Home> Blog> My Favorite Tool - QGIS

My Favorite Tool - QGIS

This post originally appeared on the Software Carpentry website.

QGIS (formerly Quantum GIS) is an open source Geographic Information System.

QGIS is capable of advanced analysis and cartography, but I don’t use it for that.

In my research in hydrodynamic modelling, I deal with a lot of spatial data - coastlines, bathymetry, and the like - and this will eventually be processed and plotted using R, MATLAB or Python.

But if I’ve received a file and simply want to take a quick look at it, or if I want to quickly compare two files that use different coordinate systems and see if things line up, most of the time I can throw the file at QGIS and it will show it to me with a few clicks. This approach lacks the reproducibility of a coded solution, but it’s an awful lot quicker for a throwaway visualisation.

Simon Waldman, Postdoc, Aberdeen, Scotland


Have you got a favorite tool you would like to tell us about? Please use this form to add a bit of detail and we will do the rest to create a blog post about it. You can read the background to these posts here, or see what other tools people have written about.

Table of Contents


Feedback on this page? Contact us

Last edited: 2024-04-29 at 14:57:25 UTC

Edit this page on GitHub